Voters Guide: South Washington County School Board candidates


Voters in the South Washington County School District will see 15 names on the school board election ballot.

There are 10 candidates running for four open seats on the school board. Those are four-year terms. The candidates are: Tracy Brunnette, Patricia Driscoll, Thor Halverson, Alexandra Hedberg, Doug Hoffman, Katy McElwee-Stevens, David Pyrz, Katie Schwartz, William Thurmes and Sharon Van Leer.

Another five candidates are vying for a two-year seat in a special election held in conjunction with the regular election. They are: Wael Abdelkader, Sean Brown, Duane Girard, Heather Hirsch and Steve Lagoon. 

Election day is Tuesday, Nov. 7. Absentee voting is underway. Here is more information about voting.

Candidates for four-year seats:

Tracy Brunnette

Patricia Driscoll

Thor Halverson

Alexandra Hedberg

Douglas Hoffman

Katy McElwee-Stevens

David Pyrz

Katie Schwartz

William Thurmes

Sharon Van Leer

Candidates for the two-year seat:

Wael Abdelkader

Sean Brown

Duane Girard

Heather Hirsch

Steve Lagoon