Weather Forecast


DNR imposes immediate fire restrictions

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources announced Tuesday afternoon it would immediately restrict open burning permits in Washington County as a result of a fire that burned about 1,500 acres in and near the Carlos Avery State Wildlife Management Area in Forest Lake Monday.

Five other metropolitan counties -- Anoka, Chisago, Isanti, Sherburne and Wright -- will also be restricted, according to a press release.

The purpose of the restriction is to reduce property damage caused by wildfires that are fueled by dry vegetation, the press release says. The restriction will be lifted when plants become green, according to the press release.