Weather Forecast


Absentee ballots out for school board, extended hours in SPP

On Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 3, the School Board will have a slate of 10 individuals running for the four expiring school board seats.

The candidates and their city of residence are:  David G. Kemper of Woodbury; Tracy Brunnette of Cottage Grove (incumbent); Walt Lyszak of Cottage Grove; Marsha C. Adou of Woodbury (incumbent); Mike Thissen of Woodbury; Laurie Johnson of Woodbury; Katy McElwee-Stevens of Newport; Alberder Gillespie of Woodbury; Gina Taft of Cottage Grove; and Edward Nowak of Woodbury.

The positions of Marsha Adou, Ellen Ayers, Tracy Brunnette and Denise Kapler all expire at the end of December. Elected individuals will take office on Jan. 1, 2010 and serve terms that would expire in December of 2013.

Polling places are combined for school district-only elections. This year, like other years where other government entities have no elections being held, the district plans to save money and combine polling places. With the exception of St. Paul Park, no other city in the district is holding elections. As a result, the district will have nine combined precincts and St. Paul Park will have three precincts. Information will be posted in the Bulletin and on the district's Web site. Residents can also access poling locations (based on your residence) at the Secretary of State Web site.

Absentee voting is available now. Eligible voters may vote by absentee ballot if they will be unable to go to the polling place on Election Day for one of the following reasons: absence from precinct; illness or disability; religious discipline or observance of religious holiday; service as election judge in another precinct.

With absentee voting, you may vote either in person or by mail during the 30 days before election day. Eligible voters must complete, sign and submit an absentee ballot application in order to receive an absentee ballot.

In person, you can apply and vote at:

- Cottage Grove -- County Service Station, County Road 19 and 90th Street Park

- Woodbury  -- County Service Station, 2150 Radio Drive, next to the Police Department

Or by mail:

- Apply for your ballot early so you can mail it back before Election Day.

- Plan ahead: your absentee ballot must reach your precinct by 8 p.m. on election day. You may call, write, or fax to request an application. You can return your application by fax but not your ballot.

- Return the completed application as soon as possible, preferably by fax (651) 430-6178.

- Your absentee ballot will be mailed to you.

- Mail the completed ballot to:  Washington County Elections, 14949 62nd Street North, Suite 290, PO Box 6, Stillwater MN 55082

Call Washington County Elections at (651) 430-6175 for more information or if you have questions.

Extended hours for absentee voting

St. Paul Park residents who want to cast an absentee ballot for two council members and 10 District 833 school board candidates may vote at city hall, 600 Portland Ave. from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

On Saturday, Oct. 31, city hall will be open for absentee voting from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. On Monday, Nov. 2, the offices will remain open until 5 p.m.

Residents in Precinct 4 should have already received ballots by mail. If you have not, contact the Washington County Election office at (651) 430-6175.

City council members Sandi Dingle and Jeff Swenson are running unopposed for second terms.

In District 833 10 candidates are running for four expiring school board seats.

On Tuesday, Nov. 3, all three St. Paul Park polling places will be open. Those are city hall, the fire station and Heritage Park.