Weather Forecast


Washington County in flood disaster declaration

Washington County is among 13 Minnesota counties added to a federal major disaster declaration because of spring flooding.

Preliminary damage assessments found $8.1 million in damages to 13 counties and the Red Lake tribal nation in northern Minnesota, the state Department of Public Safety announced Tuesday. The counties added by the Federal Emergency Management Agency are Washington, Becker, Beltrami, Kittson, Marshall, Norman, Otter Tail, Polk, Ramsey, Red Lake, Roseau and Swift.

An earlier disaster declaration included 20 additional counties.

The declaration provides two types of assistance:

-- Aid to state and local governments and certain nonprofit organizations for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

-- Hazard Mitigation Grant Program: Aid to state and local governments and certain organizations for action taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards.

FEMA will pay for 75 percent of approve costs. Eligible work includes debris removal, emergency services and repairs to damaged public facilities.

Areas of Washington County saw flooding of the Mississippi and St. Croix rivers.

-Scott Wente