Weather Forecast


Graduation at Park is Friday

The Park High School graduating class of 2006 will celebrate the end of its public school career at 7 p.m., Friday, June 2.

As has been the Park tradition since District Stadium was built, ceremonies will be held outdoors with ample room for friends and families.

Park Principal Walt Lyszak, who will greet the seniors and guests, states firmly each year that "it never rains on Park graduations," even though there have been several close calls.

The evening will begin with the processional of students filing in to "Pomp and Circumstance," followed by the presentation of the colors by the Park High School Air Force Junior ROTC color guard. It will be followed by the playing of the National Anthem.

"Field of Gold," a musical selection presented by the choir will be sung, directed by Christopher Russell.

Student speakers will be Kara Johnson and Leah Tollefson, valedictorians, and Matthew Briggs.

Other valedictorians include Justin Banach, Ryan Den Herder, Beth Evenson, Christina Vogt, Nichole Winkler and Mary Vang.

"The Prayer," by Carole Bayer Sager, will be performed and sung by Francine Magee and her father, John Magee.

Todd Hyland will be guest speaker.

The school's wind ensemble will perform "Let There Be Peace On Earth."

The seniors, about to become graduates, will receive diplomas from Ron Kath, District 833 School Board Chair, Board Member Katie McElwee-Stevens, and assistant principals Stephanie Blair, Davin Bunn and James Stucco.

After the recessional, "Stars and Stripes Forever," graduates will go to the middle of the infield for a group hug and the tossing of mortarboards.

Students graduating with highest honors include: Lauren Bares, Matthew Briggs, Allison Bryant, Mark Cameron, Katlyn Carson, Rachel Clark, Emily Crom, Trace Crosby, Jerrid Cunniff, Jeffrey DeWaele, Rachel Doherty, Tricia Ellis, Jacob Erickson, Sara Gordy, Claire Gores, Garrett Graves, Tara Hawley, Christina Huber, Joshua Jeske, Alex Jolly, Amanda Jorgenson, Dennis Kim, Jenna Larsen, Christa Lence, Christine Lisson, Kevin Mackey, Tyler Manning, Andrew McPherson, Emily Miller, Jelena Milutinovic, Shona Mosites, Megan Most, Olufunke Ogunfolami, Ericka Panek, Mitchell Panek, Staci Paul, Aimee Schilling, Michelle Staack, Amanda Thayer, Abby Torguson, Teresa Townsend, Nina Veress and Kurt Willms.

Student Council members include: Ashley Hagen, president; Kayla Winter, vice-president; Aimee Schilling, secretary; Olufunke Ogunfolami, treasurer, Mary Yang, historian; and senior student council representatives; Lindsey Anderson, Lauren Bares, Alyssa Bennet, Brittany Bratulich, Matthew Briggs, Danielle Cotton, Rachel Doherty, Tricia Ellis, Michelle Gutierrez, Samantha Hawkins, Julie Hubbard, Lindsey Kapitz, Jaimie Kopet, Samantha Koski, Christa Lence, Nichole Lence, Francine Magee, Megan Most, Alexandra Posz, Michelle Staack, Keri VanSlyke and Morgan Wilson.

The senior class president is Lucas Stair.

The class flower is a white rose and "Time of Your Life" is the class song.

The Class of 2006 motto is: "Find a way or make one."

Honored staff members are: Denise Atkinson, Rob Bach, Katie Block, Pam Bloom, Jerome Detviler, Steve Estenson, Elaine Hedin, Todd Hyland, Greg Juba, Thomas McCarthy, Aaron Pozzini, Nancy Remakel, Steve Romanchuk, Gretchen Romain, and Tom Ryan.

Retiring staff members include Elaine Hedin and Penny George.

Junior high school honored staff are: Peter Bergman, Carole Byhre, Sam Dummer, Kent Getzlaff, Lisa Gustafson, Philip Holtz, Gretchen Kleinsasser, Christopher Palmatier, Jason Poirier, Robert Ramey, Darren Reiter, Dayna Rethlake and Charles Whitbred.

Elementary school honored staff are: Tim Bunnell, Gregory Dupre, Wayne Gale, Matthew Gonzalez, Amber Harre, Bob Loshek, Chad Palmquist, Kent Petrie, Linda Schaack, Thomas Simser, Teresa Stevens and Reid Tschumperlin.

Judy Spooner
Judy Spooner is the longest-serving staff writer at the South Washington County Bulletin. Spooner, who covers education and features in addition to writing a weekly column, has been with the newspaper for over 30 years.
(651) 459-7600